Board of Directors

The District is governed by a five-member Board of Directors. The five members are elected by-district in five single member districts, meaning one member of the Board shall be elected from each district, by the voters of that district alone, to four-year terms. These terms are staggered, with three seats are up for election one year and two seats are up for election the following year. The position of the President and Vice-President are rotated annually.

Policy decisions are made at the monthly Board meetings, which are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 5:00 p.m. in the District’s Board Room located in the Administrative Building , 1960 La Costa Avenue, in Carlsbad, Special Board meetings are held as needed. All Board meetings, Special meetings and Committee meetings are open to the public. We encourage attendance and public participation by our citizens. 

At these public meetings, the Board makes policy decisions; approves agreements and contracts; adopts ordinances and regulations; and authorizes the expenditure of the District’s funds. The Board works closely with the General Manager to ensure that policy is effectively implemented.

Individuals interested in serving on the Board of Directors are invited to visit the County of San Diego Registrar of Voters for the latest information on how to file as a candidate, including filing deadlines.

Directors are also appointed to serve on one or more of the committees listed below.


Investment & Finance Committee (IFC)

The IFC advises the Board on matters relating to District finances. Typical duties include the annual review of reserve & investment policies, the Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR), contracts related to financial matters and/or other financial matters, as appropriate. Directors Sullivan and Pacilio presently serve on the IFC.

Human Resources Committee (HRC)

The HRC advises the Board on matters relating to District personnel. Typical duties include review personnel policies and other personnel matters, as appropriate. President Roesink and Director Sullivan presently serve on the HRC.

Engineering Committee (EC)

The EC advises the Board on matters relating to District’s Technical Operations and Capital Programs. Typical duties include review the District’s Capital Improvement and Capital Acquisition Programs, contracts related to engineering and construction services, and/or review other Capital Improvement matters, as appropriate. Directors Omsted and Pacilio presently serve on the EC.

Community Affairs Committee (CAC)

The CAC advises the Board on matters relating to the District’s public information and outreach programs. Typical duties include review of the production of the District’s biannual newsletters, the Teacher Grant Program, contracts related to public information, and/or review other public information and outreach matters, as appropriate. Vice President Saldana and Director Omsted presently serve on the CAC.